The ‘Sailor’s Chapel’ in the district Triana
A small and picturesque chapel in San Telmo Park
Although this chapel was built originally in the 16th century for the contemplation of sailors and reminds of the typical style of the 19th century Triana. In 1599 the dreaded Dutch pirate Peter Van der Does headed towards Las Palmas and damaged the chapel severely during his attack.
The citizens, however, even though shaken by the battle, rebuilt and renovated the little chapel in the 17th century. The chapel is square-shaped and consists of one single nave. Its porch is mainly of classical style but has also some gothic elements like the porch’s pointed arches. The building resembles much the Mudejar architecture, only enhanced with gothic and classical elements.
The chapel’s interior impresses with its particular twin-altars called San Telmo and Virgen de las Angustias.